Announcements‎ > ‎

AGF Names 2017 LHC Scholarship Winners

posted May 20, 2017, 10:58 AM by Bobby Clark
Congratulations to Jared Dakota Dawson and Kai Alexander Standifer

Greenville, South Carolina - Alpha Phi Alpha Greenville Foundation is proud to name our selections for Luke H. Chatman Scholarship for 2017, Mr. Jared Dakota Dawson (Riverside High School) and Mr. Kai Alexander Standifer (Maudlin High School). Each will receive $750.00 per year for four years for attending a college of their choice by Spring 2018. 

"We are very proud to be supporting these two students with their college careers. We expect great things from both of them", Jimmy Durante, Scholarship Chair and Treasurer of AGF. AGF awarded two students this year to fill the void, since we didn't have four students to support. AGF Board members attend award ceremonies for winners, when possible. 

Mr. Kai Alexander Standifer of Simpsonville, was one of the 2017 LHC Scholarship winner. Along with Mr. Jared Dakota Dawson (Riverside High School, not pictured)

Since 1987, the Gamma Gamma Lambda chapter has coordinated and given the Luke H. Chatman Memorial Scholarship which last year gave three $3,000.00 scholarship ($750 for four years), and has given more than $74,000 in scholarships to worthy local high school students.

These scholarships are based on the whole person concept, which encompasses academic achievement, leadership, citizenship, athletics and service to the community. Also, an applicant's financial need will be considered in the selection of the scholarships. As started in 2004, the scholarship application requires two letters of reference from the community.

More about the Luke H. Chatman Scholarship can be found on the program for the Scholarship.