Alpha Phi Alpha Greenville Foundation, Inc. 

      P.O. Box 5263    |    Greenville, SC 29607  |     (864) 735-0880

Luke H. Chatman Memorial Scholarship Current & Past Winners

These scholarships are based on the whole person concept, which encompasses academic achievement, leadership, citizenship, athletics and service to the community. Also, an applicant's financial need will be considered in the selection of the scholarships. As started in 2004, the scholarship application requires two letters of reference from the community. 
2018's winner 
  • Mckenna Alexandra Johnson (Greer High School,
    planning to college this Fall)
2017's winners
  • Kai Alexander Standifer (Maudlin High School,
    attending the University of South Carolina)
  • Jared Dakota Dawson (Riverside High School, attending the University of South Carolina)

2015's winner:

         Emanuel Jackson
        (attending Lenoir Rhyne University majoring in Business)

2014's winner:

James Everett Tillman, II (attended Clemson University)

2013's winner:

Ronald A. Platt (attended Clemson University)

2012's winner:

Mayanna Pearson (attended Claflin University)

2010's winner:

Ben Daniel (attended USC Upstate)

2009's winner:

Adrian Brett Mangrum (attended Lander University)

2008's winner:

Steadman Bonner (attended South Carolina State University)

2007's winner:

Maurie Motley (attended Francis Marion University)

2006's winner:

Stefan Murphy (attended USC Upstate)

2005's winner:

John Odell Ferguson (attended Furman University)

2004's winner:

Herbert Blassengale, IV (attended Clemson University)

2003's winner:

Brittany Shell (attended Columbia College)

In 2003 GGL switched to one $3,000 Scholarship ($750 for 4 years). Before that year, we offer three scholarships of $1,000 to local high school students.

2002's winners were as follows:

Ashley Sanders, University of South Carolina
Ingrid Childs, Spellman College
Behoy Markos, Clemson University

2001's winners were as follows:

Salanda D. Brown, University of South Carolina
Samuel S. Brown, University of South Carolina
Daniel D. Brown, Clemson University