Luke H. Chatman Memorial Scholarship
Current & Past Winners

These scholarships are based on the whole person concept, which encompasses academic achievement, leadership, citizenship, athletics, and service to the community. Also, an applicant's financial need will be considered in the selection of scholarships. Since 2004, the scholarship application requires two letters of reference from the community.

2022's winner

  • Blake A. Sands (Mauldin High School, attending University of South Carolina)

2021's winner

  • Channin Anias Griffith (Legacy Charter High School, attending Morehouse College)

2020's winner

  • Tyler Andrew Alexander (Southside High School, attending North Carolina A&T University)

2019's winner

  • Elijah Jabari Neal (Blue Ridge High School, attending the University of South Carolina)

2018's winner

  • Mckenna Alexandra Johnson (Greer High School, attended Mercer University)

2017's winners

  • Kai Alexander Standifer (Maudlin High School, attended the University of South Carolina)

  • Jared Dakota Dawson (Riverside High School, attended the University of South Carolina)

2015's winner:

  • Emanuel Jackson

(attended Lenoir Rhyne University majoring in Business)

2014's winner:

James Everett Tillman, II (attended Clemson University)

2013's winner:

Ronald A. Platt (attended Clemson University)

2012's winner:

Mayanna Pearson (attended Claflin University)

2010's winner:

Ben Daniel (attended USC Upstate)

2009's winner:

Adrian Brett Mangrum (attended Lander University)

2008's winner:

Steadman Bonner (attended South Carolina State University)

2007's winner:

Maurie Motley (attended Francis Marion University)

2006's winner:

Stefan Murphy (attended USC Upstate)

2005's winner:

John Odell Ferguson (attended Furman University)

2004's winner:

Herbert Blassengale, IV (attended Clemson University)

2003's winner:

Brittany Shell (attended Columbia College)

In 2003 GGL switched to one $3,000 Scholarship ($750 for 4 years). Before that year, we offer three scholarships of $1,000 to local high school students.

2002's winners were as follows:

Ashley Sanders, University of South Carolina

Ingrid Childs, Spellman College

Behoy Markos, Clemson University

2001's winners were as follows:

Salanda D. Brown, University of South Carolina

Samuel S. Brown, University of South Carolina

Daniel D. Brown, Clemson University